Martindale Awards

Peer

Peer

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

Peer

4.7/5.0

Average Client Rating

Client

43% client recommended

Reviews (27)

Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-06 10:06:23

No description provided

— Peer 02/06/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-29 14:38:43

Ellen is a credit to the New Jersey Bar and a valued member of the legal community.

— Peer 01/29/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-29 08:14:06

No description provided

— Peer 01/29/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2012-08-28 11:50:50

an extemely competent matrimonial attorney

— Peer 08/28/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-08-20 07:35:51

Since I practice in a different area of law,this review is based, in part, on information from other attorneys. I know Ellen best from her work as trustee of two different bar organizations. I am usually inclined to give "B", rather than "A", ratings to good lawyers.

— Peer 08/20/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-20 04:25:56

No description provided

— Peer 07/20/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-12 17:42:01

No description provided

— Peer 07/12/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-05 09:55:35

No description provided

— Peer 07/05/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-07-05 09:54:31

No description provided

— Peer 07/05/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2011-07-18 10:02:37

No description provided

— Peer 07/18/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-07-09 08:40:27

No description provided

— Peer 07/09/2011

4.8 / 5.0
2012-07-20 10:12:41

No description provided

— Peer 07/20/2012

4.2 / 5.0
2012-07-12 09:46:49

No description provided

— Peer 07/12/2012

4.0 / 5.0
2014-01-29 14:28:39

No description provided

— Peer 01/29/2014

4.0 / 5.0
2012-08-29 16:28:48

No description provided

— Peer 08/29/2012

4.0 / 5.0
2012-07-20 11:31:09

No description provided

— Peer 07/20/2012

4.0 / 5.0
2012-07-10 11:25:35

She is a well respected attorney in the community by Judges, peers, adversaries and litigants. Jean is a hard worker and knowingly advocates for her clients.

— Peer 07/10/2012

3.8 / 5.0
2014-02-02 22:31:17

No description provided

— Peer 02/02/2014

3.6 / 5.0
2012-08-20 15:37:41

No description provided

— Peer 08/20/2012

3.2 / 5.0
2014-01-30 12:06:25

No description provided

— Peer 01/30/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2019-08-09

Ellen is a heaven sent, with this process its an emotional journey. She is someone that listens to you to understand your perspective and will guide you in this emotional journey. Ellen and her para-legal Lisa are quite the duo. Ellen takes the time to answer my many phone calls and emails. She is very knowledgeable and a no nonsense kind of attorney. I would highly recommend her to anyone going through this time of there life.

— Client 08/09/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2018-09-28

Ellen was a great representative during my divorce. She charged for the work she performed on my behalf as expected. Lawyers charge for their service and Ellen explained the fee structure in detail before we began the process. The value was excellent from my perspective.

— Client 09/28/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2010-08-05

I am a client of Cheryl M Spilka. She is very thorough and determined. I am always sure I have great ally in my corner whenever an issue surfaces. She is clear and concise and genuine when we discuss the situation at hand! {newline}I highly recommend her to anyone in need of these services. After my initial consultation a few years ago when this all began, i left there feeling much better and confident I would be ok after all was said and done! It was!

— Client 08/05/2010

1.0 / 5.0
2015-06-04

Ellen Schwartz is a dishonest lawyer.She is not competent. She does not provide any value for your money.She did not look out for my rights.All she was interested was getting paid.

— Client 06/04/2015

1.0 / 5.0
2014-07-23

If you want a good lawyer don't use Jean. She lies, shes late all the time, she lost me A LOT of money. She will charge you for every word spoken to her and every piece of paper sent to you. You really don't want her for your lawyer believe me. I am a female but I also know of a male that used her too and he hates her as much as I do.

— Client 07/23/2014

1.0 / 5.0
2010-08-20

expensive, unprofessional ,

— Client 08/20/2010

1.0 / 5.0
2009-07-13

She was late for every court hearing. She did little (VERY little) for my case. She got me nothing. I thought myself being a female and she also that she would have some compassion and help me nail the guy but thanks to her being late as usual she lost me everything. She is the most uncaring, uncompassionate person you could ever want to meet. Stay away! Also, I have a male friend that has used her services and he was just as unhappy with her and she was late for him all the time too!

— Client 07/13/2009